This one is going to require a bit of background information.
The state of Massachusetts requires that all learner's permit applicants be at least 16 years of age in order to get their learner's permit to drive. This allows them to drive with any licensed driver over the age of 21.
The state requires 30 hours in the classroom and 18 hours in the car for driver's education, and 40 hours of practice driving with a licensed driver. This story will not cover the process of driver's education.
-- End Backstory --
As stated on my About page, I have been a transportation enthusiast since March 2009. This includes roads as well as public transportation (trains, busses, even airplanes, but not boats (I f--king hate boats)). As a result, I know quite a bit about road signs and laws (because my parents have broken them).
In Massachusetts, we have this place called the Registry of Motor Vehicles (our equivalent to the Department of Motor Vehicles in other places), or "the registry" for short. I went there for my permit test (and it took nearly two hours, because the registry is slow).
I went right on my 16th birthday (as it is the most popular and we had time), and I got more "happy birthday" comments than I thought I would.
The test took me 4 minutes and 20 seconds. (nice.)
My driving ability is okay at best. I have ran red lights, sped, nearly crashed many times.